Compare courses
Register

Columbia Journalism School

Available dates

This course has no confirmed dates in the future. Subscribe to be notified when it is offered.

About the course

The Introduction to Video Storytelling is offered exclusively to enrolled undergraduate and graduate students earning credit. This course is offered in collaboration with the Columbia University School of Professional Studies.

In Introduction to Video Storytelling, you will learn how to report news and feature stories, using multimedia with an emphasis on storytelling techniques through video. This course will teach the essentials for digital delivery of a narrative: how to develop story ideas, reporting techniques, scripting, audio and visual digital editing, and multimedia storytelling structures. You will be coached on conducting interviews for video, pitching and reporting a story and editing and presenting the final feature. You will leave with a broader knowledge of multimedia journalism and an understanding of the most advanced technologies available for video storytelling.

Curriculum

Week One

May 22 (Monday)

  • Elements of a Successful Story
  • Video-worthy Stories
  • Review of Camera

May 24 (Wednesday)

Shooting Techniques

Week Two

May 31 (Wednesday)

Elements of Composition

Week Three

June 5 (Monday)

  • Introduction to Adobe Premiere CC and Workflow
  • Editing Workflow

June 7 (Wednesday)

  • Managing Audio
  • Setting up Sit-down Interview
  • Conducting a Video Interview

Week Four

June 12 (Monday) and June 14 (Wednesday)

  • Elements of Pitching
  • Pitching and Reporting
  • SHOOT STORY
  • Week Five

June 19 (Monday) and June 21 (Wednesday)

  • Reporting and Editing
  • EDIT STORY

Week Six

June 26 (Monday), June 28 (Wednesday), June 30 (Friday)

  • Editing and Presentation
  • COMPLETE EDITING STORY

Course reviews